Share |
Florida Tech Hosts FAS 83rd Annual Meeting

Florida Tech hosted the Florida Academy of Sciences 83rd annual meeting on campus March 7-9. This marks the seventh year that Florida Tech hosted the event since 1971, and the first time since 2011. The meeting was held in conjunction with the Florida Junior Academy of Science (FJAS), an organization of students and adults serving middle and high school science students across the state of Florida.

The annual meeting was led by Assistant Professor of Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences Kelli Hunsucker, concluding her two-year term as academy president.

The three-day meeting included the quarterly meeting of the Academy’s council, its annual business meeting, a plenary session, and a reception in Evans Library where guests could observe a display on the history of the Academy, as well as visit the Harry P. Weber University Archives and Digital Scholarship Lab.

The plenary address was delivered by Florida Tech alumnus Duane De Freese, who offered, “Integrating 21st Century science, technology and policy as a foundation for large coastal ecosystem restoration and stewardship. Lessons from the Indian River Lagoon National Estuary Program.”

Richard Turner, professor emeritus of biological sciences at Florida Tech and the 2018 Florida Academy of Sciences Medal recipient, delivered the Medalist Banquet Address, “A Yankee’s Calling to Florida, with Apologies to Harriet Beecher Stowe.” Turner also served as chair of local arrangements for the three-day conference.

Florida Tech participated in many of the 14 sections of the Academy this year, as well as served as judges for the oral and poster presentations done by FJAS. Florida Tech students and faculty authored 62 of the 156 presentations given over the course of the three days, resulting in 20 awards for poster and oral presentations.

The categories and Florida Tech winners were:

  • Anthropological Sciences: Zarya Dahl, Major De Novaes Nascimento
  • Atmospheric and Oceanographic Sciences: Cierra Braga, Ann Wassick
  • Biological Sciences: Emily Wiseman, Brianna Richardson
  • Engineering: Braden Blackwell
  • Environmental and Chemical Sciences: David Handy, Gregory Belson, Salome Sasu
  • Geosciences: Stephanie Baskin, Jacob Schiferl
  • Medical Sciences: Isiah Mossiah
  • Physics and Space Sciences: Devon Madden, Naomi Watanabe, Colleen Shanahan, Kyle Johnston, Sarah Arends, Stephen Kwok Choon, Stephen Butalla

Related Articles