Share |
Florida Tech Opens Chapter of National Academy of Inventors

More than 40 members of the Florida Tech community were inducted as inaugural members into the new Florida Tech chapter of the National Academy of Inventors at a Sept. 15 ceremony.

Florida Tech First Lady Mary Helen McCay is the founding president of the Florida Tech chapter.

To be an inaugural member of the Florida Tech chapter of the NAI required an inventor to have an issued patent from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

The NAI is a non-profit organization that is comprised of U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes. It has over 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide.  (

The inaugural members of the Florida Tech chapter are: William Allen III, William Arrasmith, Marco Carvalho, Thomas Eskridge, Michael Freund, Hamid Hefazi, Pei-Feng Hsu, Brian Lail, Yi Liao, Mary Helen McCay, T. Dwayne McCay, Kunal Mitra, Syed Murshid, John Nierwinski, Hakeem Oluseyi, Adrian Peter, Hamid Rassoul, Ronnal Reichard, Joshua Rokach, Razvan Rusovici, Steven Shaw, Anthony Smith, Chelakara Subramanian, Nakin Suksawang, Geoffrey Swain, G. Bhaskar Tenali, Donna Wilt, Stephen Wood, Shengyuan Yang, Robert Keimer, Doug Chapman, David LeVan, Gordon Nelson, Siddhartha Bhattacharyya, George Rybicki, Veton Kepuska, Steve Rivet, Anthony DeTroia, Greg Peebles, Fran Cirillo, Ken Ernandes, Daniel Owen, Jerome Sonnenberg, Lucas Stephane and Kenia Nunes Bruhn.

Dwayne McCay was named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors in 2016.

Related Articles