Headlines — 30 May 2014
Share |
Teams Take 1st, 2nd in Hybrid Rocket Competition

The students from the 2 winning FIT teams are: Bottom row L to R: Alex Denis, Jiequan Zhou, Noemi Redak, May Nyein Chan, Andrew Douglass, Jakob Breidenbaugh, Jennifer Geehan, Evelyn Stein, Adam Hill. Back row L to R: James Doyle, Rakhayai Mangsatabam, Daniel Chojnowski, Mark Montero, Mark Dushane, Kineo Wallace, Matheiu Plaisir, Nathan Baldwin, Max Skuhersky, Jake Watson. Not pictured: SRS officers Kyle Levin and Kristen Erickson.

The Max Team took first place in one competition and the university’s 2K Team took second place in a separate competition at the Florida Space Grant Consortium Northeast Florida Association of Rocketry annual Hybrid Rocket Competition in April near Cody Corners, Fla.

Team results are based on points for the launch of the rockets and the points awarded for notebooks, team-built rockets and motors. The competition drew nine Florida schools, including Florida Tech, nearly double the traditional number.

Related Articles