Features Features (News) — 30 August 2011
Share |
They Represent Excellence
Faculty Excellence

Anthony J. Catanese, Marcus Hohlmann, J. Clayton Baum, James Brenner, Charles Polson

Three faculty members earned the 2011 Faculty Excellence Awards for outstanding performance. They were J. Clayton Baum, professor of chemistry, the Andrew W. Revay Jr. Award for Excellence in Service; Marcus Hohlmann, associate professor of physics and space sciences, the Award for Excellence in Research; and James Brenner, assistant professor of chemical engineering, the Kerry Bruce Clark Award for Excellence in Teaching.

At Florida Tech since 1979, Baum has received the Florida Tech Presidential Award for University Excellence four times for his contributions to the university. In recognition of his teaching and mentoring, alumni, students and friends established the endowed J. Clayton Baum Chemistry Award, given annually to outstanding chemistry majors.

Since coming to Florida Tech, Hohlmann has received more than $1.5 million in research funding, including grants from the Department of Energy and the Department of Homeland Security. He works in elementary particle physics at the Compact Muon Solenoid, one of the large international experiments at the CERN (European Organization for Particle Research) Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland.

Brenner, past president of the Florida Tech Faculty Senate, won a National Science Foundation award to develop novel Nanotechnology Lab II and Materials Characterization Laboratory courses, which were offered for the first time in 2010. His research interests include self-assembly of nanomaterials, and hydrogen storage, purification, and sensing—three technologies that will make hydrogen fuel cell engines possible.

Related Articles